IACS (International Association of Classification Societies) is a collection of 12 classification bureaus in the world that serves to make regulations on marine such as ships, offshore buildings and other facilities in the sea. IACS was born in Hamburg, Germany on 11 September 1968 with a total of 7 classifications. Up to now members of IACS into 12 classifications, among others:
1. American Bureau of Shipping (ABS)
2. Bureau Veritas (BV)
3. China Classification Society (CCS)
4. Croatian Register of Shipping (CRS)
5. Det Norske Veritas Germanischer Lloyd (DNV GL)
6. Indian Register of Shipping (IRS)
7. Korean Register of Shipping (KR)
8. Lloyd's Register (LR)
9. Nippon Kaiji Kyokai (NK/ClassNK)
10. Polish Register of Shipping (PRS)
11. Registro Italiano Navale (RINA)
12. Russian Maritime Register of Shipping (RS)